People who I Love and Appreciate: My Boyfriend Dylan (Part 9)

Sunday, Sept. 22nd, 2019

So, last but not least I am writing about my boyfriend Dylan, the journey of these posts have helped me dramatically. It has reminded me that I am blessed with a lot of people to love and a lot of people to love me. Not that I didn’t know that already of course, but it helps to be reminded…

Dylan –

I met Dylan in 9th grade, we had a class called MAC together. MAC stands for Music, Art and Computers. I didn’t really know him at first, he was so quiet. My friend Logan and I decided to sit next to him one day, just because he was alone. Now, Dylan got to watch me make fun of Logan everyday. He thought it was really funny. I was sure that Logan and I were annoying the crap out of him. Logan was extremely annoying and I spent the entire class making fun of him, talking over the teacher and all that jazz.

Little did I know that made an impression on him, he found me very funny and apparently he told his friend Cameron that he liked me. Young love, I know. One day, Cameron and I were sitting in study hall, he was talking to me about how much he loved this girl named Jess. I told him every day that he should go for it until one day he did. Then, one day he eventually decided to tell me that his friend Dylan liked me. Being at that age learning that someone liked me, I was really intrigued to learn who this Dylan guy was, or really what he was like. At that time, I was under the impression that the only guys that I deserved/attracted were losers. When I found out a smart, seemingly successful guy like Dylan liked me. I was overwhelmed to learn that someone so good and put together could love me like that.

Dylan and I started dating in 10th grade, it was toward the end of December. We did what every young couple did. Dylan took me on a date to the movies for our first date, we saw a weird movie called “I Frankenstein”. Then, when we were in school, Dylan and I would hold hands in the hallway, he would walk me to class and gave me a hug before class started. When it was lunch time, we sat together and spent every moment together during school. When we weren’t in school, I didn’t want him to come to my house, I was nervous about all the mess, nervous that it wouldn’t be good enough after I saw his house. I spent a lot of time believing that I didn’t deserve him. This lead to a lot of fighting and us breaking up on and off throughout tenth grade. Though, he and I always went back to each other because we knew that we cared about each other that much.

… I remember the first Valentine’s Day gift that Dylan got me in 10th grade, it was a bear that smelled like chocolate and matching necklaces that had our names on it. Mine said Dylan and his said Rachel. To this day, I still have the bear that smells like chocolate… Even though Dylan and I broke up after tenth grade. We split up for about 2 to 3 years.

Then one day, Dylan decided that he was going to get back in touch with me, he contacted me on Snapchat asking how I have been doing. At that time he didn’t even have my Snapchat. He just remembered the name that I would use and gave it a shot. Lucky for him he caught me while I was writing an Essay. We talked about how life was going for each other and I asked him why he contacted me. He said he was tired of playing it safe and decided to say why the hell not? Needless to say, I was nervous at first. Unsure of where it would lead to, knowing that Dylan and I had the tendency to fall back in love with each other instantly. (To which Dylan confessed that he never stopped loving me❤️) Dylan and I, ever since we started dating, were always drawn back to each other. So much so, that Dylan told his best friend at the time to not let him get back with me.

Then eventually, I too decided to say “Why the hell not?”. Him and I started to text and talk every day. I even decided that we should get together at his house and hang out and talk. I remember telling my Step-Mom Ashley about me talking to Dylan again, and she said “Yeah, I remember you were always hung up on him”, even before I realized it for myself. When Dylan and I were hanging out for the first time, I never wanted to go home. We just sat up talking all night and it felt so familiar and just like home. I ended up staying the night at his house. Then, after I got home, we texted all day until we saw each other again. We were hanging out like we were dating but I never called it official until he decided to kiss me or I decided to kiss him.

We made it official February 17th, 2017. Then, we spent every second together that we could until the day that I decided I didn’t want to be away from him. We moved in together December 25th, 2017. I know that seems very fast, we were only together for 10 months but hey… When you know, you know. This December we will be at 2 years of living together and in four months, 3 years of being together. We made it work for us and I like to believe that this man is my soulmate. 💚

Dylan is the most sweetest man alive and I am so lucky to call him mine. He impresses me every day with how much love he has for other people and the amount of compassion he has. This man couldn’t even hurt a fly, his heart and his soul radiates for miles and I could go on and on about how much I love him. Everyone in his family talks about how amazing and special he is. I am so excited to be spending my life with him and hopefully we will have the rest of it together. I think about marrying him everyday and know how fortunate I am to have him. 💛

If I could do anything for Dylan, I will spend my time explaining to him how great he is and maybe someday he will understand how much I and everyone else loves him. I knew I had the approval of my family when my Grandma K. told me that I could never break up with him. 😂

…I find new reasons to fall in love with Dylan everyday… He is so special to me.🖤

Here’s my song to you!

I love you, Dylan! 😍❤️

2 thoughts on “People who I Love and Appreciate: My Boyfriend Dylan (Part 9)

  1. Welp – you got me in tears again.

    What a beautiful ‘finale’ of appreciation.

    The song really hit home and topped it off. There is so much spectacular and kind and awesome and intelligent energy that Dylan embodies – I am so grateful that he is sharing your journey with you. You two are an incredible balance and couple, and I can’t wait to see you both flourish and flower.

    And I am so glad that you have found this love so early on.

    Thank you, Ray –

    Love,
    Kaleb

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment